View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 12:43 am

Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Buying and Breeding question 
Selling plater

Post Buying and Breeding question
SO I am a newbie and it took some time, but I totally have picked up. I'm doing well but I have some questions about breeding with outside horses and buying mares intended for breeding. When you are looking at horses you don't own what is best to look when you can't see a complete list of the horses stats? HOw do I know what the potential is on the horse I am buying or breeding to and what about that horse would you say says it would be a good match with mine? Right now I am just going on race history pretty much and sometimes it works other times it doesn't. I know this can be the way it is in the real world. I am just looking for some insider tips. :D

Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:12 am
Group 2 winner

Post Re: Buying and Breeding question
There are a lot of people on here more knowledgeable about the game than me but I would say you are pretty much getting it right.

Look for wins at group and listed level. Mares wise buy anything in the auctions that has won a group race and send it straight to stud. Breeding from your own horses seems to give better results , at least it did for me. Once you start breeding from them you can then also use the ability of the offspring as a guide to whether they are good at passing ability on.

When using the non owned horses go for the ones with the most Group wins and not the highest rated as the ratings are a bit off. Also the highest price ones are not always the best ones so don't look at that too much.

Also 'follow' horses that win the biggest races and you will get an email if they come up for auction. The really tops ones don't come up that often but I have bought a previous Derby winner, a champion sprinter and a previous Grand National winner by doing this. I am 18 seasons in though so don't expect it very often !