View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:49 pm

Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 New to the game 
Selling plater

Post New to the game
Hi all,

I'm new to the game (and the series) and all I can really say is 'wow' - this is an incredible simulation game. I've been a casual follower of Racing for ten years or so and this has far surpassed my expectations. I think I've sunk about 20 hours into it over the last few days, most of which have been used to learn some of the basics, the interface, game concepts etc

I've read a few forum posts about general strategy and feel like I've learned a fair bit. I do feel like I'm hitting a bit of a glass ceiling though so would appreciate any help.

By way of background / context, I am in my second season of an 'Easier' save. I sold most of my stable at the start and lucked out when the AI paid me £1m for 2m Colt. I invested a fair bit in infrastructure - AW track, starting gates and breeding barn. The rest went on a handful of horses, including £900k on a very attractive 4yo Colt who was clearly being mismanaged. This horse is the star of my six horse stable and has just landed a (albeit weak) Group 3 race.

My issues:

(1) Financial Management - I can't work out if the revenue costs of running the yard are mostly fixed overheads or variable to the number of horses. Should I be trying to expand my stable more aggressively as the marginal running cost of more horses will lessen with number of horses? Or will I be bankrupting myself through largesse?

(2) All of my other horses are progressive sorts. They have all reached or surpassed a Rating of 100 but this is starting to be a hindrance. I have two horses who seem be stuck on a rating of 107 / 108 and they are nowhere near good enough to win a G3 or a Listed Race. I now can't enter them into handicaps - what is the most effective way of depressing their rating so that I can get them back into handicapping?