View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:31 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 CK v League 
Selling plater

Post CK v League
I am sorry to have to post this but I felt it necessary.

I here all the talk that the CK is everything when deciding what horses will be competitive in the league. If that is so then why am I seeing such inconsistencies.

1) CK horse distances are not reflected in league races. I am new to this but all my horses so far in league races don't stay the trip? IMO if a horses consistently runs 7f in the CK then it shouldn't be hitting a brick wall at 6f in a league race. I have tested my horses thoroughly in the CK on all different courses and goings. I can accept the odd bad run but this appears far different than the CK marker we are told to use.

2) I have one horse in the CK that runs 5f between 53.5 > 58.5 secs depending on going / course but in the league appears to have 3 legs and always ambles in near the back of the field in approx 1 min. How can anybody explain that one?

3) Finally I picked up a win with a horse called "Solar Light" in a week 7 handicap. This horse in the CK always needed 7f but when first raced in the league the trip was too far. So I drop down to 6f and the horse won.

The point I am trying to make is that the CK is inaccurate and is off putting / disheartening for people new to league racing trying to trial good horses to upload to their league stable.

I don't know what general consensus is but your thoughts would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Stephen.

Sun May 09, 2010 10:13 am
Group 1 winner

Alot of it comes down to the difference in pace between your specific CK and the horses that run in the league.

There will also be a difference in quality which added to the difference in pace would attribute to these differences.

Sun May 09, 2010 10:24 am
Profile WWW
Selling plater

I havent got any horses in the league this season, so im going off what SO3 was like.